Saturday, 2 April 2011

Oook... So I have been a little slack at this lately.. I'll try to make up for it!
Wow, I officially only have 99 days left in Belgium. It's super crazy to think about! When I first got here I remember thinking 'wow, I have such a long time here...' but ever since Christmas, time has literally been flying by! It sounds clichéd, but it's true! All of a sudden it stopped snowing, then started to get hot, then BAM! spring is upon us and i'm outside sunbathing! It makes me think of all the things I still want to do here! I know I won't be able to do everything, but that just gives me an excuse to come back! Also, I've noticed that many people here are very into travelling (I get it, it's very easy!) But I still think to myself, It's super cool that I can travel here, but I did choose to come to Belgium, to experience life here - so if I end up staying in Belgium instead of going on a Euro-tour, it's not exactly a bad thing...
Speaking of travel... my trip to Morocco is in 11 days! That has definitely crept up on me! I am extremely excited! It will be a chance to experience a totally different culture, and also get to know more of the people at my school, seeing as I only really know the ones that I have classes with. However, the weather there is apparently 30° right now, thus... it is highly possible that I will die there from overheating. Or loss of water due to my constant sweating. Oh well, hopefully it happens to everyone else too.... haha.
I am also still hoping to make a small trip to Amsterdam with some friends. Maybe in May we are thinking. We have discovered the joys of buses! They are so much cheaper here, making a return trip to Amsterdam only 20€!
I will also have some free time between when school ends and I go back home. Some girls and I have been talking about a trip to England and Ireland (!!!!) but I also REALLY want to go to this festival here in Belgium. It's four days long and you camp there, and it has the most AHmazing lineup!! Only catch is that it costs 195€ for the two days... But we will see! I also have my best friend from when I was younger who's just moved to Switzerland! So hopefully we'll be able to catch up then too!!
Tomorrow there's an AFS barbecue near to where I live, so I shall be attending :) Hopefully it's good! :p
It seems the school is catching on a little as to the fact that Eliza and I have occasionally been skipping school... It's just so tempting in the sunshine lately!! But I think we'll have to cut back.. We recently went to Brussels for the day (to find a Nikon repair shop) and ended it in the irish pub for some Hoegaarden (my favourite name for a beer!). This guy she'd met once was there and he gave her a rose!! ahhh.. how romantic <3 However, he doesn't speak English, nor French, only Romanian... So there's a slight catch. I was more worried about the fact that he was wearing a visor type thing upside down AND to the side. It looked very... special.. But the fact that he was shouting made up for it a little ;)
Otherwise, school is going OK. I'm a little over it though.. When you think about it, I was getting over going to school in NZ, then I just decided I'd do a whole other year here! It also doesn't help that people in my school are just annoying!! Ok, not all of them, but many! They're all exactly the same. Dressing the same way, having their hair in the same hairstyle, saying and thinking the same things. They always talk about the same boring stuff and they're just so... Self involved? I dunno, they just annoy me greatly. They also have problems not getting in people's way. They'll be walking in a door, then stop right in the entrance, preventing you from entering yourself. Or halfway up the stairs they'll stop to give someone a bisou, have a chat, or sometimes they just stop for no reason!! Arghh! It's making me insane! The girls are the worst.. They are just.. clones... And bitches too very often. It's so boring ... But I enjoy laughing at the looks on their faces, especially the ones who seem to have just caught a big whiff of poo. Whenever I meet people who don't go to my school in Belgium, I find them really cool and interesting. But anyone from school is just dull... (though again, there's the odd exception). They just do the same thing every day... But at least I'm not like them!
I may not have mentioned it before but my host brother is in Holland right now on AFS. He came home the other day for the weekend so I got to meet him, and he's really cool! Although I already knew that. He was the one who got me into his family, and we often talk over facebook. But it was good to see him in person. I feel sorry for him though cause he had an AWFUL host family. He just changed, after waiting about 7 weeks. His host father used to scream at him all the time, and threaten to kick him out. His host mother was a manipulative little bitch who tried to control everything that he did. So thankfully that's over for him!! I can understand the relief he must be feeling right now!
One thing that I've learnt here, I've noticed lately, is that I've become more.. house trained, I guess you could say. I now clean my room on a regular basis, I help out with cooking and all things like that, and I do my own washing. It's cool knowing that I can do things for myself. It also kinda makes me motivated to keep doing it back home :)
Ok, gotta go now, cause we're having a dinner party and the guests have just arrived!
Byeeee xoxo

No comments:

Post a Comment